Newly elected council members are sworn in

November 24, 2017

Returning incumbents and new city council members in Rochester and Rochester Hills were sworn into office following this year's general election results.


Rochester City Council was scheduled on Monday, November 27, to swear in its four recently elected officials, which include new members Dean Bevacqua and Nancy Salvia, as well as returning incumbents Stuart Bikson and Ann Peterson.


The four members received the highest vote totals of the six candidates who ran for Rochester City Council during this year's general election. Salvia, Bevacqua and Bikson will each serve four-year terms. Peterson, who had the fourth highest number of votes, will serve a two-year term on council.


A swearing-in ceremony was held on Thursday, November 16, in Rochester Hills to mark the start of the term for four council members in that municipality. Those sworn into office include returning council members Jim Kubicina and Stephanie Morita, as well as new council members Ryan Deel and Jenny McCardell.


Morita and Kubicina return to council after running unopposed in their districts, the 1st and 2nd, respectively. Deel ran against candidate Ryan Smith for the seat representing the 4th district, while McCardell ran against former incumbent councilman Kevin Brown, who held the council's at large seat.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Sign Up
Register for Downtown's newsletters to receive updates on the latest news, social events and much more!

Downtown newsmagazine

© 2019 by Downtown Publications, Inc.

Birmingham, Michigan 48009


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon