Township seeks candidate for financial committee

June 29, 2018

The Bloomfield Township financial sustainability committee, an advisory board comprising members of the community with financial knowledge in order to advise the board of trustees on financial matters, needs a new resident member, after member Don Katz announced he is moving to Alaska, township treasurer Brian Kepes announced at the board of trustees meeting on Monday, June 25.

The financial sustainability committee was created in 2015 to assist the treasurer and trustees in making better informed financial decisions, but it is only an advisory committee. There are three community members, each with backgrounds in the financial services industry, who serve three-year terms. They are joined on the financial sustainability committee by Kepes, supervisor Leo Savoie, a trustee, who is currently Neal Barnett, and finance director Jason Theis.

“Don Katz is moving to Fairbanks, Alaska, at the end of the month, and we need to fill that position,” Kepes said at the meeting. “We are asking for candidates to submit resumes by (Wednesday) July 18 at 5:30 p.m., and the board will decide who will fill that position for the remainder of that three-year term.”

The other general community members are Dave Petoskey and Ken Hudson. All three were re-appointed to three-year terms on February 12, 2018.

Interested applicants must be a township resident and registered to vote; 18 years or older; a U.S. citizen, and have been a resident of Bloomfield Township at least 30 days. Qualified candidates include investment advisors, pension attorneys, and actuaries with specific experience in public sector finances.

Letters of interest and a resume should be submitted to the clerk's office.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Sign Up
Register for Downtown's newsletters to receive updates on the latest news, social events and much more!

Downtown newsmagazine

© 2019 by Downtown Publications, Inc.

Birmingham, Michigan 48009


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon