top of page
  • Lisa Brody and Kevin Elliott

Candidates file to run in August primary

Republican and Democratic candidates vying for numerous state and local offices filed their petitions for Michigan's August 7 primary election by the 4 p.m. Tuesday, April 24 deadline.

This year's primary election looks to be especially interesting because two incumbent congressmen – longtime Democratic Rep. Sander Levin of Michigan's 9th District, and Republican Rep. David Trott of the 11th District – announced their retirements, opening up two congressional seats. All candidates have until 4 p.m. Friday, April 27, to withdraw their names from contention in order to not be printed on the August primary ballot.

Winners from each party will face off in the November general election.

U.S. Congress 8th District

Rochester, Rochester Hills

This district traverses northern Oakland County, through Livingston County to Ingham County, and includes E. Lansing and Lansing. Incumbent Republican Mike Bishop of Rochester has filed to run for re-election and will face challenger Lokesh Kumar of Lansing in the primary. Two Democrats have filed to run against Bishop in the primary, Elissa Slotkin of Holly and Chris Smith of E. Lansing.

U.S. Congress 9th District

Bloomfield Township

Republican Candius Stearns of Sterling Heights will face the winner of the Democratic primary which includes candidates hoping to replace Rep. Sander Levin. Filing for the Democratic primary are Martin Brook of Bloomfield Township, Andy Levin (Sander's son) of Bloomfield Township, and Ellen Cogan Lipton of Huntington Woods. State Sen. Steve Bieda of Warren, who had been campaigning and raising money for the seat, at the last minute chose to file for Macomb County Clerk/Register of Deeds. The district includes Bloomfield Township, Beverly Hills, Berkley, Bingham Farms, Clawson, Center Line, Eastpointe, Ferndale, Franklin, Fraser, Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Madison Heights, Mt. Clemens, Pleasant Ridge, Royal Oak, Roseville, St. Clair Shores, Sterling Heights, and Warren.

U.S. Congress 11th District

Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Rochester Hills

This race is the race to watch in the primaries, with six Republicans battling to be their standard bearer against six Democrats eager to represent their party. On the Republican side, former U.S. Rep. Kerry Bentivolio of Milford, Kristine Bonds of West Bloomfield, Lena Epstein of Troy, state Rep. Klint Kesto of West Bloomfield, state Sen. Mike Kowall of White Lake and former state Rep. Rocky Raczkowski of Troy have filed to run.

On the Democratic side, state Rep. Tim Greimel of Troy, Suneel Gupta of Birmingham, Dan Haberman of Birmingham, Fayrouz Saad of Northville, Nancy Skinner of Birmingham and Hayley Stevens of Birmingham have submitted petitions.

The district covers Auburn Hills, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Commerce Township, Highland Township, Farmington, Lake Angelus, Lyon Township, Milford, Northville, Novi, Novi Township, South Lyon, Troy, Walled Lake, Waterford, White Lake, Wixom, parts of Clawson, Rochester Hills, and West Bloomfield, along with a portion of western Wayne County.

Michigan Senate-12th District

Bloomfield Township

Initially, three Democrats and five Republicans filed for the 12th District primary., although three candidates withdrew from the race by the 4 p.m. withdrawal deadline on Friday, April 27. The candidates originally filing were Democrats Rosemary Bayer of Beverly Hills; Jeremy Ross Haines of Lake Orion; and Kate Logan, of Oxford. However, Haines and Logan withdrew from the race on Friday, leaving Bayer with no primary opposition. Republicans initially filing were Chris Karwacki of Beverly Hills; Michael McCready of Bloomfield Township; Vernon Molnar of Auburn Hills; Jim Tedder of Clarkston; and Terry Whitney of Clarkston. Karwacki, however, withdrew from the race by the Friday deadline. The district covers Addison Township, Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Township, Independence Township, Keego Harbor, Oakland Township, Orion Township, Oxford Township, Pontiac, Southfield Township, Sylvan Lake and the Village of Clarkston.

Michigan Senate-13th District

Birmingham, Rochester, Rochester Hills

Just two candidates have filed for the 13th district. Democrat Mallory McMarrow, of Royal Oak; and incumbent Republican Marty Knollenberg, of Troy, will both run unopposed in the August primary and face off in November.

Michigan House-40th District

Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township

Two Democrats and six Republicans have filed to run in the August primary election for the 40th district. The candidates include Democrats Nicole Bedi of Birmingham; and Mari Manoogian of Birmingham. Republicans facing off in the primary will include Mike Banerian of Bloomfield Hills; Malissa Bossardet of Bloomfield Township; Paul Secrest of Bloomfield Township; Paul Taros of Birmingham; David Wolkinson of Birmingham and Joe Zane of Birmingham.

Michigan House-45th District

Rochester, Rochester Hills

Two Democrats will run in the August primary for the 45th House District: Kyle Cooper of Rochester and Ted Golden of Rochester Hills. Incumbent Republican Michael Webber, of Rochester Hills, will run unopposed in the Republican primary.

Oakland County Commissioner-11th District

Rochester Hills

Three Republican candidates, Glenn Clark of Troy, Thomas E. Kuhn of Troy and Charles W. Tischer of Rochester Hills will face off in the August primary to go against Democrat Ann Erickson Gault of Rochester Hills in the November election.

Oakland County Commissioner-12th District

Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township

Incumbent commissioner Shelley Goodman Taub (R) of Bloomfield Township will face Democrat Cherie Horrigan Happy of Bloomfield Hills in November.

Oakland County Commissioner-13th District

Bloomfield Township

Democratic incumbent Marcia Gershenson of Bloomfield Township will be challenged by Republican Michelle Dinardo of Farmington Hills in November.

Oakland County Commissioner-15th District

Rochester, Rochester Hills

Republican incumbent Adam Kochenderfer of Rochester Hills is being challenged in November by Democrat Mary Ward of Rochester Hills.

48th District Court

Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township

At the 48th District Court in Bloomfield Township, which oversees cases for Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township, Keego Harbor, Sylvan Lake, Orchard Lake and West Bloomfield, incumbent judge Diane D'Agostini will face Amy Wechsler in November.

52d District Court - 3rd Division

Rochester, Rochester Hills

Incumbent judge Lisa Asadoorian is running unopposed.

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button

DOWNTOWN: Unrivaled journalism worthy of reader support

A decade ago we assembled a small but experienced and passionate group of publishing professionals all committed to producing an independent newsmagazine befitting the Birmingham/Bloomfield area that, as we like to say, has long defined the best of Oakland County. 


We provide a quality monthly news product unrivaled in this part of Oakland. For most in the local communities, we have arrived at your doorstep at no charge and we would like to keep it that way, so your support is important.


Check out our publisher’s letter to the community here.

Sign Up
Register for Downtown's newsletters to receive updates on the latest news and much more!

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page