top of page
  • :

June 2021


Started in 2015, The Bates Street Society was created to help recognize donors who make significant charitable contributions to support the work and mission of The Community House. New members are acknowledged annually at The Bates Street Society Dinner, an extraordinary evening hosted by The Community House Association and Foundation Board of Directors. 

This year The Community House Foundation will be inducting ten new members into the Bates Street Society. Members of The Bates Street Society include individuals, corporations, and foundations that have given extraordinary treasure, $25,000 or more cumulatively, and donors who make an irrevocable legacy gift of $25,000 or more to The Community House. Each year we gather to recognize, honor, and induct these extraordinary donors and volunteers in a public way at the Bates Street Society Dinner.

The Bates Street Society Dinner will also recognize TCH/TCHF’s annual Pillars of Vibrancy in Business, Education, Culture, Wellness and Philanthropy. 


2021 Pillars of Vibrancy Honorees include: ​

•  Honorable Dave Bing — Business & Culture

•  Dominic DiMarco — Education

• Barry Franklin, Ph.D. — Wellness

• Lila Lazarus — Wellness & Education

• Duane Mezwa, M.D. — Wellness & Education

• Rabbi Daniel B. Syme — Culture

• Linda Schlesinger-Wagner — Business & Philanthropy

• S. Evan Weiner — Business & Philanthropy

• Jessie Beld Elliott and Ed Welburn — Business & Philanthropy


Impacted by COVID-19, the Bates Street Society Dinner has been moved to Saturday, September 11, 2021. To help lead this extraordinary gathering, Huel Perkins, iconic broadcast journalist and American news anchor, will once again assume the role of master of ceremonies. Live entertainment will be by renowned jazz saxophonist Jeff Ponders II.

Seating is limited, tickets (reservations) on sale now.


Our gratitude and special thanks to founding sponsor, PNC Wealth Management and to Beaumont Health, TCF Bank, Oakland University, Metalbuilt, Chief Financial Credit Union, Cranbrook Educational Community, Deroy & Devereaux, Michael Willoughby & Associates, SlipNOT, and Hall & Hunter Realtors for their sponsorship of the 2021 Bates Street Society Dinner as well. Sponsorship and advertising opportunities are still available.

For more information, contact Christopher Smude, vice president, The Community House Foundation, at


Volunteers have been involved in the every-day life of The Community House for over 98 years. They give the “House” a face, a voice, helping hands, and a heart.

Even though our doors remain partially closed, much work continues behind the scenes. The Community House invites you to consider joining our esteemed volunteer team – and by doing so, you can be assured that your precious donation of time and talent will be greatly appreciated and will positively impact the lives of those we serve. 

For more information about volunteering at The Community House, please visit our website at to download a volunteer application or call Kathie Ninneman at 248.594.6403.

For reservations, sponsorships or more information about booking gathering and meeting space for spring and summer 2021 and beyond, please go to or call 248.644.5832.

William D. Seklar is President & CEO of The Community House and The Community House Foundation in Birmingham.


PayPal ButtonPayPal Button

DOWNTOWN: Unrivaled journalism worthy of reader support

A decade ago we assembled a small but experienced and passionate group of publishing professionals all committed to producing an independent newsmagazine befitting the Birmingham/Bloomfield area that, as we like to say, has long defined the best of Oakland County. 


We provide a quality monthly news product unrivaled in this part of Oakland. For most in the local communities, we have arrived at your doorstep at no charge and we would like to keep it that way, so your support is important.


Check out our publisher’s letter to the community here.

Sign Up
Register for Downtown's newsletters to receive updates on the latest news and much more!

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page